Back to top

Comités

Cette semaine dans les comités

Les comités législatifs permettent l'examen détaillé de questions précises d'une manière qui ne serait pas possible à l'Assemblée législative. Ces comités sont formés de députés de tous les partis, qui sont nommés par l'Assemblée législative, pour examiner des sujets précis et en faire rapport. Les membres du public peuvent observer les délibérations pendant les rencontres publiques.

Les comités législatifs se divisent en trois catégories :

Comités permanents

Les comités permanents sont établis en vertu des règles et procédures de l'Assemblée législative. Ils peuvent étudier des questions qui relèvent de leurs domaines de responsabilité, tels qu'établis par les règlements, ou qui lui sont soumises par l'Assemblée législative. Ils peuvent également décider eux-mêmes des sujets à examiner. 

Voir comités permanents.

Comités pléniers 

Les comités pléniers sont formés de tous les députés et ils se réunissent dans la Chambre d'assemblée. Lorsque l’Assemblée est en comité plénier, la masse est placée sous la table, le président de l'Assemblée législative quitte la Chambre, et le président du comité plénier, soit le vice-président de l'Assemblée législative, prend place au bout de la table. Les règles de l'Assemblée législative restent en vigueur, mais un député peut prendre la parole autant de fois qu'il le souhaite. 

Voir comités pléniers.

Comités spéciaux 

Ces comités ad hoc sont formés par une ordonnance ou une résolution de l'Assemblée législative afin d'étudier une question particulière. 

Voir comités spéciaux.

Cette semaine dans les comités

octobre 15, 2019 - 6:00pm

Red Chamber
2nd Floor, Province House
1726 Hollis Street
Halifax, N.S.
 
At that meeting, the following bills will be considered:
Bill No. 169 – Expropriation Act (amended) (with representation)
Bill No. 175 – Marine Renewable-energy Act (amended) (with representation)
Bill No. 177 – Public Utilities Act (amended) (with representation)
Bill No. 180 – Fatality Investigations Act (amended) (no representation)
Bill No. 187 – House of Assembly Act (amended) (with representation)

Back to top

Committees

This week in committees

Legislative committees allow for detailed examination of matters in a way that would not be possible in the larger House of Assembly. They are composed of Members of the Legislative Assembly from all parties, who are appointed by the House to examine and report on specific areas. Members of the public may observe the proceedings during public meetings. There are three kinds of legislative committees:

Standing Committees

Permanent committees established under the Rules and Forms of Procedure of the House of Assembly. They may study matters within specific areas of responsibility as outlined in the Rules, or matters referred to them by the House. They may also undertake studies on their own initiative.

View standing committees.

Committees of the Whole House

These include all MLAs and they meet in the legislative chamber. If the House recesses to sit as one of these committees, the Mace is placed under the table, the Speaker leaves the chamber, and the Chairman of the Committee of the Whole, the Deputy Speaker, takes his place at the head of the table. The Rules of the House apply, but there is no limit on the number of times a member may speak.

View committees of the whole house.

Select or Special Committees

These ad hoc committees are created by an order or resolution of the House of Assembly to investigate a particular issue. In Nova Scotia, there is no difference between a select and a special committee.

View select or special committees.

This week in committees

February 24, 2021 - 10:00am to 12:00pm

Via Video Conference
 
Witness/Agenda:
Safe Return to Class Fund & Agency, Board and Commission Appointments
 
Department of Education & Early Childhood Development
Cathy Montreuil, Deputy Minister
David Potter, Director, Financial Services
Andrew Coates, Executive Advisor to the Deputy
 

February 25, 2021 - 10:00am to 12:00pm

Via Video Conference
 
Witness/Agenda:
Housing, Housing Affordability & Economic Development
 
Department of Municipal Affairs and Housing
Catherine Berliner, Deputy Minister
Christine Gibbons, Executive Director of Corporate Policy & Innovation
Martin Laycock, A/Chief Operating Officer, Housing and Municipal Sustainability
Stephan Richard, Director, Community Relations & Public Affairs
 
Dalhousie University, School of Planning
Ren Thomas, Assistant Professor
 
Welcome Housing and Support Services
 
South Shore Housing Action Coalition