Back to top


This week in committees

Legislative committees allow for detailed examination of matters in a way that would not be possible in the larger House of Assembly. They are composed of Members of the Legislative Assembly from all parties, who are appointed by the House to examine and report on specific areas. Members of the public may observe the proceedings during public meetings. There are three kinds of legislative committees:

Standing Committees

Permanent committees established under the Rules and Forms of Procedure of the House of Assembly. They may study matters within specific areas of responsibility as outlined in the Rules, or matters referred to them by the House. They may also undertake studies on their own initiative.

View standing committees.

Committees of the Whole House

These include all MLAs and they meet in the legislative chamber. If the House recesses to sit as one of these committees, the Mace is placed under the table, the Speaker leaves the chamber, and the Chair of the Committee of the Whole, the Deputy Speaker, takes the Speaker's place at the head of the table. The Rules of the House apply, but there is no limit on the number of times a member may speak.

View committees of the whole house.

Select or Special Committees

These ad hoc committees are created by an order or resolution of the House of Assembly to investigate a particular issue. In Nova Scotia, there is no difference between a select and a special committee.

View select or special committees.

This week in committees

November 29, 2022 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm

Committee Room
Granville Level
One Government Place
1700 Granville Street
Teacher Workloads and Impact on Student Achievement, and Teacher Recruitment and Retention; and Appointments to ABCs
Department of Education and Early Childhood Development
Elwin LeRoux - Associate Deputy Minister
Dr. Chris Boulter - Executive Director, Education Innovation, Programs and Services
Kim Matheson - Executive Director, Centre for Equity in Achievement and Wellbeing
Jeremy Brown - Executive Director, Nova Scotia Education Common Services Bureau
Educators for Social Justice
Megan Neaves - Teacher
Paul Lenarczyk - Teacher
Nova Scotia Teachers Union
Ryan Lutes - President.

November 30, 2022 - 9:00am to 11:00am

Committee Room
One Government Place
1700 Granville Street
2022 Report of the Auditor General – Immigration and Population Growth
Department of Labour, Skills and Immigration
Ava Czapalay– Deputy Minister
Immigrant Services Association of Nova Scotia
Jennifer Watts - CEO