Back to top

Branches of Government

There are three branches of government: legislative, executive and judicial.


The legislative branch is composed of the elected body of representatives elected to the House of Assembly and the Lieutenant Governor. Its primary purpose is to make laws.


The executive branch is the Executive Council, or cabinet.

While the lawmaking responsibility falls on the legislative branch, or the Legislature, the executive branch oversees the day to day operations of government. They deliver the programs and services for the general population.


The judicial branch is composed of federally and provincially appointed judges who preside over the courts. Judges are independent of the executive and legislative branches. The courts interpret and apply the Constitution, as well as legislation passed by both levels of government. They also develop and apply the common law. For more information, visit