Back to top

About the Legislature

The Nova Scotia Legislature, consisting of the Lieutenant Governor and the House of Assembly, is the legislative branch of the provincial Government of Nova Scotia, Canada. The Assembly is the oldest in Canada, having first sat in 1758. In 1848, Nova Scotia became the site of the first responsible government among the colonies of the British Empire.

Nova Scotia has 55 Members in the Legislative Assembly (MLAs) representing 55 electoral districts. The Assembly meets in Province House, a National Historic Site and Canada’s oldest legislative building. It is located in Halifax. It opened on February 11, 1819.

Supporting Offices
Bureaux de soutien
These individuals and offices manage the functions needed for a working legislature.
Library Services

Access the Legislative Library’s Online Catalogue, view the Monthly Checklists of Nova Scotia Government publications, or consult the library’s rich resources.

How the Legislature Works
Le fonctionnement de la législature

Do you know who represents the Crown in Nova Scotia? Have you ever wondered how the laws that affect your daily life get made? Answer these questions and more.


History of political milestones in Nova Scotia

Photo Galleries
Galeries de photos

Galleries on Province House, people, events, symbols, and artifacts

Ceremonies and Events
Cérémonies et événements

Learn about the modern-day ceremonies and their place in the day-to-day business of the House of Assembly.

News and Notices

View news releases and RSS feeds.


Legislative publications and the monthly checklist of Nova Scotia Government publications


View financial disclosure reports for senior management.

Educational Resources

Improve your legislative literacy with this series of educational videos.